sopran

Biographie

Magdalena Anna Hofmann wurde in Warschau geboren und begann nach einem Gesangsstudium am Wiener Konservatorium ihre Karriere als Mezzosopran. Vor dem Debüt als Sopranistin trat die Sängerin bereits an der Mailänder Scala, dem Theater an der Wien, den Bregenzer Festspielen und weiteren bedeutenden Spielstätten auf.

Im Jahr 2011 debütierte sie als Contessa in Le nozze di Figaro in Klosterneuburg, worauf im selben Jahr ihr gefeiertes Rollendebüt als Kundry in einer Neuproduktion von Parsifal in Talllinn folgte.

Dem schlossen sich wichtige Debüts wie Schönbergs Erwartung und Dallapiccolas Il prigioniero an der Oper von Lyon, Portia in Tchaikowskys Der Kaufmann von Venedig bei den Bregenzer Festspielen sowie Konzerte in unter anderem Osaka, Porto, Stuttgart und bei den Herbstlichen Musiktagen Bad Urach an.

Im Oktober 2014 feierte die Sopranistin in ihrem Rollendebüt als Senta in Der fliegende Holländer an der Oper von Lyon enorme Erfolge („kraftvoll und stimmschön“, Süddeutsche Zeitung). Als Carlotta kehrt Hofmann in einer Neuproduktion von Schrekers Die Gezeichneten im März 2015 nach Lyon zurück. Außerdem war sie 2014/2015 als Frau in Erwartung an der Neuen Oper Wien, als Fremde Fürstin in Rusalka am Aalto Theater Essen und in ihrem Rollendebüt als Elsa in Lohengrin in der Cesis Concert Hall in Litauen zu erleben.

2015/2016 folgten Auftritte an der Berliner Philharmonie, der Birmingham Symphonny Hall und in Kopenhagen (Erwartung mit dem Royal Danish Orchestra dirigiert von Michael Boder), der Oper Bonn (Senta im Fliegenden Holländer), in Porto (Wagners Wesendonck-Lieder & Isoldes Liebestod) und Essen (Senta).

Engagements der Spielzeit 2016/2017 umfassen Sieglinde in Die Walküre in Minden, Senta in Kopenhagen, Erwartung in Bern und die Uraufführung von Mondparsifal alpha 1-8 (B. Lang / R. Wagner) bei den Wiener Festwochen.

In 2017/2018 folgt Mondparsifal alpha 1-8 bei den Berliner Festspielen, die Titelpartie in Jenö Hubay’s Anna Karenina in Bern und Schönbergs Gurrelieder im Casa da Musica Porto.

Magdalena Anna Hofmann hat bereits mit Dirigenten wie Daniel Harding, Kirill Petrenko, Daniele Gatti, Bertrand de Billy, Michael Boder, Kazushi Ono, Hartmut Keil, Lothar Königs, Riccardo Frizza, Gaetano d’Espinosa, Bernhard Kontarsky, Patrick Summers, Alejo Perez, Tomas Netopil sowie Vladimir Vedosejev und Regisseuren wie Keith Warner, Àlex Olle (La Fura dels Baus), Nicola Raab, Peter Stein, Frank Castorf, Stéphane Braunschweig, Valentina Carrasco, John Fulljames, William Friedkin, Gerd Heinz, Daniel Slater, Lotte de Beer, David Bösch und Walter Sutcliffe gearbeitet.

Mai 2017

soprano

Biography

Magdalena Anna Hofmann was born in Warsaw and completed her formal vocal training in Vienna. Prior to her debut in the soprano repertoire, the artist already performed at prestigious opera theatres and festivals such as the Teatro alla Scala, Milan, the Bregenz Festival and the Theater an der Wien.

In 2011 she sang her first soprano role, Contessa Almaviva in Le nozze di Figaro at the Klosterneuburg Festival, followed by her first and highly acclaimed Kundry in a new production of Wagner’s Parsifal at the Rahvusooper, Tallinn.

Performances since then have included several important debuts such as Schönberg’s Erwartung and Dallapiccola’s Il prigioniero at the Opéra de Lyon, Portia in Tchaikovsky’s The Merchand Of Venice at the Bregenz Festival and concerts in Osaka, Porto, Stuttgart as well as at the Bad Urach Festival.

In October 2014 Hofmann scored an exceptional success in her role debut as Senta in The Flying Dutchman in Lyon (“ a riveting performance” Opera News), where she will return in March 2015 as Carlotta in a new production of Schreker’s Die Gezeichneten. Other performances of the 2014/2015 season include Frau in Erwartung at the Neue Oper Wien, The Foreign Princess in Rusalka at the Aalto Theater, Essen and her role debut as Elsa in Lohengrin it the Cesis Concert Hall, Latvia.

Among her performances of the 2015/2016 season were Frau in Erwartung at the Berliner Philharmonie, the Birmingham Symphony Hall and in Copenhagen with the Royal Danish Orchestra conducted by Michael Boder, a new production of The Flying Dutchman in Bonn, The Flying Dutchman in Essen and Wagner’s Wesendonck-Lieder & Isoldes Liebestod in Porto.

Engagements of the 2016/2017 season include her role debut as Sieglinde in Die Walküre in Minden, Senta in Copenhagen, Erwartung in Bern and the world premiere of Mondparsifal alpha 1-8 (B. Lang / R. Wagner) at the Wiener Festwochen.

The 2017/2018 season will lead her to the Berliner Festspiele in Mondparsifal alpha 1-8, to the Bern Opera House in the title role of Jenö Hubay’s Anna Karenina and to the Casa da Musica in Schönberg’s Gurrelieder.

Magdalena Anna Hofmann has worked with conductors such as Daniel Harding, Kirill Petrenko, Daniele Gatti, Bertrand de Billy, Michael Boder, Kazushi Ono, Hartmut Keil, Lothar Königs, Riccardo Frizza, Gaetano d’Espinosa, Bernhard Kontarsky, Patrick Summers, Alejo Perez, Tomas Netopil as well as Vladimir Vedosejev and stage directors such as Keith Warner, Àlex Olle (La Fura dels Baus), Nicola Raab, Peter Stein, Frank Castorf, Stéphane Braunschweig, Valentina Carrasco, John Fulljames, William Friedkin, Gerd Heinz, Daniel Slater, Lotte de Beer, David Bösch and Walter Sutcliffe.

May 2017